Room in House Available

One bedroom in 4 bedroom house on Phinney Ridge (3 blocks from Woodland Park Zoo). Share with two professional women, one male graduate student, one very large male cat and one adolescent (but still cute) female cat. No smoking, drugs, or heavy drinking.

The available bedroom is fairly small, but is well-lit and has a high ceiling and a small walk-in closet. The house has a large living room/dining room area, a medium-sized kitchen, and a large basement. Two of the bedrooms are upstairs (including the one available), and two are downstairs. The upstairs bathroom has a tub but no shower. The downstairs bathroom has a shower but no tub. Go figure. The house is on a corner lot, with a yard on 3 sides, a large deck on the south side (covering a carport) and a small deck on the north (with a view over Puget Sound to the Olympics).

The 44 bus line to Ballard/Shilshole one way, and the University District, Capitol Hill, and downtown the other way, stops 1 block away. The 5 bus to downtown stops 2 blocks away (regular) or 3 blocks (express).

We're looking for someone who will fit in a moderate-to-liberal social and political environment (no Rush Limbaugh fans, please!) We like to make communal meals a couple times a week, but normally don't shop together or plan more than a couple of hours in advance. We've had vegetarians live with us, but since we're all dedicated meat-eaters, it makes shared meals difficult. We enjoy talking and having a good time, and are looking for someone who is also interested in cooperative group living. You should like cats, since we have two of them.

Rent is $260 per month, plus 1/4 of utilities. The house has gas heat and a gas hot-water heater, so utility bills are reasonable. Move-in terms are first, last, and $200 deposit.

Kevin Fink's Home Page (